Organisation

We want to strengthen the maritime sector.

The German Maritime Centre was founded in 2017. It is an independent institution based in Hamburg. Our members are the federal government as the main funder, five German states and the major maritime associations.

Our areas of work cover entire value chains in the fields of shipbuilding and marine technology, shipping, and ports and maritime logistics. We draw on the maritime sector’s innovative capacity and on topics of the future such as fossil-free, emissions-free propulsion systems, autonomous shipping, and recruiting young talent, so that the maritime industry can continue to maintain a leading position internationally.

We support the maritime industry by providing information and studies on developments in markets, technologies, laws and policies. At the core of our work are issues relating to designing and implementing research, development and innovation (RD&I) in the maritime sector. We support cooperative approaches to research and development, for instance, by commissioning studies and projects that implement research results, increase knowledge and further develop the technological state of the art in the maritime sector.

We want to

  • Promote the perception of the maritime sector as a diverse and future-oriented employer.
  • Expand and intensify interdisciplinary exchange within the sector as well as with other branches of industry, but also with politics, science and public authorities nationwide.
  • Support the maritime sector at European and international level.

Our priorities include: competitiveness, sustainability and climate change, technological change, demography and attracting young talent.

Association

The purpose of the association is to increase the competitiveness and innovative strength of the entire German maritime location and to strengthen know-how and career prospects in the maritime economy.

This also includes addressing and coordinating cross-cutting maritime issues that require a cross-sectoral approach. The German Maritime Centre sees itself as a point of connection between industry, science and public authorities.

From 2018 until the end of 2020 we received federal funding from the budget of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) for the establishment of the German Maritime Centre. In the first three years, the focus was on building up the personnel and technical infrastructure and defining fields of work. From 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2023, we are receiving further funding from the budget of the Federal Ministry for Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) (since December 2021: Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport/BMDV) for further expansion until the start of operations. In addition, we receive member contributions.

The organs of the association are the General Assembly, the Executive Board and the Advisory Board. The General Assembly is the supreme body of the association. It consists of all members.

Members

Our members are the German federal government, the five federal states and leading large maritime associations. The General Assembly is the supreme body of the association. It convenes at least twice a year. Each member has one vote. Our aim is to attract further associations and federal states as members.

Federal Republic of Germany

represented by the Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport

State of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania

represented by the Ministry of Economics, Infrastructure, Tourism and Employment

State of Lower Saxony

represented by the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Employment, Transport and Digitalisation of Lower Saxony

Land Schleswig-Holstein

represented by the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Transport, Employment, Technology and Touris

Free Hanseatic City of Bremen

represented by the Senator for Science and Ports

Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

represented by the Ministry of Economy and Innovation

Maritime Cluster Northern Germany

Association of German Captains and Ship’s Officers

German Shipowners’ Association

Association for Shipbuilding and Marine Technology

Central Association of German Seaport Operators

German Shipbrokers’ Association

Executive Board

The Executive Board of the German Maritime Centre consists of five natural persons. Currently, it is composed of representatives of the major maritime associations and two representatives from the federal states. The term of office of all board members is three years. The board meets at least twice a year. Its members work in an unpaid and voluntary capacity.

Dr. Reinhard Lüken

Chairperson
Managing Director
Association for Shipbuilding and Marine Technology (VSM)
E-Mail: Vorstand[at]dmz-maritim.de

Lutz M. Birke

Deputy Chairperson, Treasurer
Head of Port and Innovation
Ministry of Economy and Innovation, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

 

Daniel Hosseus

Board Member
Managing Director
Central Association of German Seaport Operators (ZDS)

Dr. Niels Kämpny

Board Member
Head of Department of Industry and Maritime Economy
Ministry of Economic Affairs, Employment, Transport and Digitalisation of Lower Saxony

Advisory Board

The German Maritime Centre has an Advisory Board that supports and advises it by providing specialist and industry knowledge. The Advisory Board consists of up to 24 persons. The members of the Advisory Board are elected for a term of three years by the General Meeting upon nomination by the Executive Board. Members of the Advisory Board serve in a voluntary and unpaid capacity.

Achim Wehrmann

Chairperson
Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport
 

Dr. Alexander Geisler

Deputy Chairperson
Managing Director
German Shipbrokers’ Association

Torsten Conradi

President
The German Boat- and Shipbuilding Association

Knut Gerdes

Chairperson of the Executive Board
Maritime Cluster Northern Germany

Thorsten Harms

Managing Director
German Shipsuppliers Association

Dr. Karin Kammann-Klippstein

President
Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency

Dr. Hermann J. Klein

Chairperson of the Executive Board
The German Society for Maritime Technology

Petra Mahnke

Managing Director
German Association for Marine Technology

Capt. Wilhelm Mertens

Managing Director
Association of German Captains and Ship’s Officers

Dr. Alexander Nürnberg

Managing Director
O.S. Energy
 
 

Michael Ströh

Managing Director
German Port Technology Association

Jörgen Thiele

Scientific Advisory Board
German Offshore Wind Energy Foundation

Organisation

WIR WOLLEN DIE MARITIME BRANCHE STÄRKEN.

Das Deutsche Maritime Zentrum e.V. wurde 2017 gegründet. Es ist eine unabhängige Institution mit Sitz in Hamburg. Unsere Mitglieder sind der Bund als maßgeblicher Finanzierer, fünf Bundesländer und die großen maritimen Verbände.

Unsere Arbeitsbereiche umfassen die gesamten Wertschöpfungsketten in den Bereichen Schiffbau und Meerestechnik, Schifffahrt sowie Häfen und maritime Logistik. Wir setzen auf die Innovationskraft der Branche und auf Zukunftsthemen, wie nicht-fossile, emissionsfreie Antriebe, autonome Schifffahrt und Nachwuchsgewinnung, damit die maritime Branche im internationalen Wettbewerb auch weiterhin einen Spitzenplatz einnimmt. Wir unterstützen die maritimen Akteure mit Informationen und Untersuchungen zu Markt-, Technologie-, Rechts- und Politikentwicklungen. Den Kern unserer Arbeit bilden Fragen der Gestaltung und Umsetzung von Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation (FE&I) im Bereich der maritimen Branche. Wir unterstützen Forschungs- und Entwicklungskooperationen, z.B. durch die Vergabe von Studien und Projekten, die zur Umsetzung von Forschungsergebnissen, zum Wissenszuwachs und zur Weiterentwicklung des Standes der Technik in der maritimen Branche beitragen.

Wir möchten

  • die Wahrnehmung der maritimen Branche als vielfältigen, zukunftsorientierten Arbeitgeber fördern.
  • den interdisziplinären Austausch innerhalb der Branche sowie mit anderen Industriezweigen, aber auch mit Politik, Wissenschaft und öffentlicher Hand bundesweit ausbauen und intensivieren.
  • die maritime Branche auf europäischer und internationaler Ebene unterstützen.

Unsere Handlungsfelder sind: Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, Nachhaltigkeit und Klimawandel, Technologischer Wandel, Demografie und
Nachwuchssicherung.

VEREIN

Der Zweck des Vereins ist es, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Innovationskraft des gesamten deutschen maritimen Standorts zu erhöhen und das Know-how sowie die Berufsperspektiven in der maritimen Wirtschaft zu stärken.

Dazu gehören auch die Bearbeitung und Koordinierung maritimer Querschnittsthemen, die eine branchenübergreifende Betrachtung erfordern. Das Deutsche Maritime Zentrum versteht sich als Bindeglied zwischen Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und öffentlicher Hand.

Wir haben von 2018 bis Ende 2020 Förderung des Bundes aus dem Etat des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) für den Aufbau des Deutschen Maritimen Zentrums erhalten. In den ersten drei Jahren lag die Konzentration auf dem Aufbau der personellen und technischen Infrastruktur und der Definition von Arbeitsfeldern. Vom 1. Januar 2021 bis 31. Dezember 2023 bekommen wir weitere Fördergelder aus dem Etat des BMVI (seit Dezember 2021: Bundesministerium für Digitales und Verkehr/BMDV), nunmehr für den weiteren Ausbau bis zur Aufnahme des Wirkbetriebs. Hinzu kommen die Beiträge der Mitglieder.

Die Organe des Vereins sind die Mitgliederversammlung, der Vorstand und der Beirat. Die Mitgliederversammlung ist das oberste Vereinsorgan. Sie besteht aus der Gesamtheit der Mitglieder.

Mitglieder

Die Mitglieder des Vereins sind der Bund, fünf Bundesländer und große maritime Verbände. Die Mitgliederversammlung ist das oberste Vereinsorgan. Sie besteht aus der Gesamtheit der Mitglieder. Die Mitgliederversammlung findet mindestens zweimal pro Jahr statt. Jedes Mitglied hat eine Stimme. Weitere Verbände und Bundesländer sollen als Mitglieder gewonnen werden.

Bundesrepublik Deutschland

vertreten durch das Bundesministerium für Digitales und Verkehr

Land Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

vertreten durch das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit

Land Niedersachsen

vertreten durch das Niedersächsische Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit, Verkehr und Digitalisierung

Land Schleswig-Holstein

vertreten durch das Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Verkehr, Arbeit, Technologie und Tourismus

Freie Hansestadt Bremen

vertreten durch die Senatorin für Wissenschaft und Häfen

Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg

vertreten durch die Behörde für Wirtschaft und Innovation

Maritimes Cluster Norddeutschland

Verband Deutscher Kapitäne und Schiffsoffiziere

Verband Deutscher Reeder

Verband für Schiffbau und Meerestechnik

Zentralverband der deutschen Seehafenbetriebe

Zentralverband Deutscher Schiffsmakler

VORSTAND

Der Vorstand des Deutschen Maritimen Zentrums e.V. besteht aus fünf natürlichen Personen. Aktuell setzt er sich zusammen aus Vertretern der großen maritimen Verbände und zwei Vertretern aus den Bundesländern. Die Amtsdauer aller Vorstandsmitglieder beträgt drei Jahre. Der Vorstand tagt mindestens zweimal im Jahr. Seine Mitglieder sind ehrenamtlich tätig.

Dr. Reinhard Lüken

Vorsitzender
Hauptgeschäftsführer
Verband für Schiffbau und Meerestechnik
E-Mail: Vorstand[at]dmz-maritim.de

Lutz M. Birke

Stellv. Vorsitzender, Schatzmeister
Amtsleiter Hafen und Innovation
Behörde für Wirtschaft und Innovation, Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg

 

Daniel Hosseus

Beisitzer
Hauptgeschäftsführer
Zentralverband der deutschen Seehafenbetriebe

Dr. Niels Kämpny

Beisitzer
Abteilungsleiter Industrie und Maritime Wirtschaft
Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit, Verkehr und Digitalisierung

Beirat

Der Verein hat einen Beirat, der ihn mit seinem Fach- und Branchenwissen unterstützt und berät. Der Beirat besteht aus bis zu 24 Personen. Die Mitglieder des Beirats werden für eine Amtszeit von drei Jahren auf Vorschlag des Vorstandes durch die Mitgliederversammlung gewählt. Der Beirat ist ehrenamtlich tätig.

Achim Wehrmann

Vorsitzender
Bundesministerium für Digitales und Verkehr
 

Dr. Alexander Geisler

Stellvertretender Vorsitzender
Geschäftsführer
Zentralverband Deutscher Schiffsmakler

Torsten Conradi

Präsident
Deutscher Boots- und Schiffbauer-Verband

Knut Gerdes

Vorstandsvorsitzender
Maritimes Cluster Norddeutschland

Thorsten Harms

Geschäftsführer
Verband Deutscher Schiffsausrüster

 

Dr. Karin Kammann-Klippstein

Präsidentin
Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie

Dr. Hermann J. Klein

Vorstandsvorsitzender
Schiffbautechnische Gesellschaft

Petra Mahnke

Geschäftsführerin
Gesellschaft für Maritime Technik

 

Kapt. Wilhelm Mertens

Geschäftsführer
Verband Deutscher Kapitäne und Schiffsoffiziere

Dr. Alexander Nürnberg

Geschäftsführer
O.S. Energy

Michael Ströh

Geschäftsführer
Hafentechnische Gesellschaft

 

Jörgen Thiele

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat
Stiftung OFFSHORE-WINDENERGIE